top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZachary Strand

The Dearest Letters- no. 173

Updated: Aug 22, 2022

Dearest Beloved,


Our time is at it’s end. Many have said it before and many will say it again. Some have even said it about us before. They were wrong. That was merely the sunset of our time. We had not yet gone to sleep. Our conscious had not yet rebooted. As such we have now existed in this dark night. A time that is in-between time. Here at last the first rays begin to peek over the divide between those who fly and those who crawl.


This extra time has both delighted and tortured my spirit. To have the chance to cling to your memory has kept me warm in the coldest hours. The reminiscing has brought clarity and the realizing has brought healing.


This new day will finally be the spring of that which is yet to come. In the light we will at last see the paths our feet are destined for, and can take that fateful step. By then, it will truly be over.


Some say that ones we have loved go with us in our heart. I think this is fallacious. The whole point of them being gone is that they are no longer with us. I believe that the ones we have loved go with us on our hearts. Just as Michelangelo chose a discarded block of marble for his masterpiece David, someone chose us and chipped away at the corse surface seeing a beauty within.


You, my dearest beloved, chipped away at the section red with anger. It is not so lopsided anymore. Less random and severe. You helped form the yellow chunk of my heart called humor. Bringing forward the jokes that delight and removing those (with some difficulty) that offend.


So as our time comes to its end, I walk with you on my heart. I will not have you on my mind. I have held you so close on my mind for so long, loving every moment. Now that space must be reserved for the one who is next. My heart however, you have made your Mark.


Sincerely,

Dearly Adored


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page